Ninety-one individuals and schools from across NSW have been acknowledged for their outstanding achievement and service to public education in today’s Minister’s and Secretary’s Awards.

The awards recognise those who have made major contributions as role models to their peers, their schools and school communities, celebrating excellence within the State’s public education system.

The Secretary of the Department of Education, Mark Scott, said the range of achievement within public schools reflected in the awards was a source of great optimism for the future of the system.

“Whether it is students’ academic excellence preparing them for jobs of the future, teachers’ innovation in guiding and supporting them, support staff or whole-school and community efforts helping our schools be their very best – everyone is helping to lay solid foundations for our future society,” Mr Scott said.

The Minster’s Award for Excellence in Student Achievement considers achievement in the academic, sporting, cultural and leadership fields, commitment to the school community and personal values. The Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching considers professional knowledge, practice and engagement.

There are two individual Secretary’s Award categories: the Secretary’s Award for Excellent Service (open to department staff), and the Secretary’s Parent of the Year Award, and two open to schools, the Secretary’s Award for Outstanding School Initiative and the Secretary’s School Achievement Award.

The department acknowledges the Institute of Public Administration NSW for sponsoring the Awards, which are administered by the Public Education Foundation.

The Foundation’s Executive Director David Hetherington said the Foundation was delighted to work with the department in acknowledging the achievements of students, education staff and parents.

“These Awards celebrate the many extraordinary achievements and initiatives in public schools across the State,” Mr Hetherington said.

[Awards lists attached]

For more information contact: DoE Media Unit, 02 9561 8501

Read the award citations on the Public Education Foundation website


Minister’s Award for Excellence in Student Achievement

 Mary Adams                  St Johns Park High School

Vedant Agrawal            Prairiewood High School

John Bekiaris                Cumberland High School

Michelle Cheung          Fort Street High School

Vannia Coquis              Northern Beaches Secondary College – Mackellar Girls Campus

Riordan Davies             Lambton High School

William Dousha            Canterbury Boys High School

Eleanor Drury                Ulladulla High School

Ben Ellis                         Inverell High School

Patrick Gleeson            Glenwood High School

Nathan Haurissa          North Sydney Boys High School

Georgia Hollens            Girraween High School

Hannah Jenkins            Elderslie High School

Abu Kebe                       Wagga Wagga High School

Chloe Lawler                 Galston High School

Clarissa Lazzaro           Strathfield Girls High School

David Long                    Canterbury Boys High School

Dylan Maclou                Elderslie High School

Niamh McAdam            Denison College, Bathurst High Campus

Aidan McBurney           Denison College – Bathurst High Campus

Aleksandra Najdovska Cumberland High School

Emily Parkes                 Lambton High School

Ricky Rangra                Penrith Selective High School

Jaime Ribeiro               Northern Beaches Secondary College – Mackellar Girls Campus

Kireth Sandhu               North Sydney Boys High School

John Schnelle               Corowa High School

Elijah Smyth                  Orange High School

Maxwell Sullivan           Kirrawee High School

Jessica Szakacs           Plumpton High School

Vignesh Thavalingam  Girraween High School

Callum Trethowan        Galston High School

Aidan Turner                 Merrylands High School

Zali Van Der Veer         The Forest High School

Julian van Gerwen       Fort Street High School

Tarje Whitford               Ulladulla High School

Vivian Zhu                     Sydney Girls High School

Sarah Grace Zia           Wagga Wagga High School

 Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

 Kristie Banfield             Oran Park Public School

Penny Baxter                 Revesby Public School

Zoe Crossingham         Elderslie High School

Brydie-Kate Cullen       Strathfield Girls High School

Kerrianne Fallon           Lansvale Public School

Julian Floriano              The Forest High School

Vanessa Jegers               Revesby Public School

Katrina Joss                   James Fallon High School

Kerri Lacey                      Kirrawee High School

Peita Mages                     Orange High School

Jenny Perry                     Campbelltown Performing Arts High School

Renee Pettit                      Warilla High School

Kate Rogan                      Orange High School

Julie Swain                      Bulli High School

Jacqueline Thompson   Dubbo College – South Campus

Neil Thompson               Dubbo College – Delroy Campus

Scott Trenaman              Wagga Wagga High School

Alice Walters                   Rutherford Technology High School

Vita Williams                  The Hills School


Secretary’s Award for Excellent Service

 Solange Cruz, Relieving Assistant Principal           Merrylands East Public School

John Hambly, Principal                                               Warilla High School

Stephen Lidbetter, General Assistant                       Thomas Reddall High School

Russell  Lieschke, Deputy Principal                          Mulwaree High School

Matthew Little, General Assistant                              Forbes High School

Olivia Mackay    Deputy Principal                              Hampden Park Public School

Tam Phan, General Assistant                                    Lansvale Public School


Secretary’s School Parent of the Year Award

 Jo Finnelley                   Kincumber Public School

Donalee Gregory          Wagga Wagga High School

Michael Hovey              Elderslie High School

Sam Hyratt                     Campbellfield Public School

Kellie McFarlane           Revesby South Public School

Michael Nguyen            Harrington Street Public School

Michael Strugnell         The Forest High School


Secretary’s Award for Outstanding School Initiative

 Auburn North Public School

Campbelltown Performing Arts High School

Canterbury Boys High School

Chifley College Shalvey Campus

Condell Park High School

Elderslie High School

Glenmore Park Public School

Holroyd High School

Kurri Kurri High School

Perthville Public School

Revesby Public School

Revesby South Public School

Sir Joseph Banks High School

South Coogee Public School

The Hills School

Thomas Reddall High School


Secretary’s School Achievement Award

 Auburn North Public School

Aurora College

Dapto Public School

Lansvale Public School

La Perouse Public School

Sir Joseph Banks High School