The Public Education High Achiever Awards were established in 2019 to highlight to senior high school students the opportunities available through international university scholarship programs, such as the Rhodes and Fulbright scholarships.

The Awards recognise high achieving students in public education who display excellence and consistency in the following areas:

  • academic performance
  • extra-curricular activities (such as sport, arts, debating etc)
  • community service
  • leadership

Prizes, supported by donations, are offered to students at a number of selective, comprehensive and regional public high schools across NSW.

The awards will be presented at a school assembly by a previous Australian winner of a prestigious international university scholarship who will talk to all students on the opportunities provided by the international scholarship programs.

“It’s a great honour to partner with the Aurora Foundation and public high schools across the state in identifying talented students who display outstanding leadership skills, academic performance and a commitment to community service,” David Hetherington, Executive Director Public Education Foundation, said.

The recipients of these inaugural awards are:

Karlie Travassaros Albury High
Finn Ball Alstonville High
Zair Ahmed Baulkham Hills High
Isabella Syephens Byron Bay High
Mia Windred Camden Haven High
Matthew Arnaoutis Carlingford High
Monica Lenaz Castle Hill High
Sana Shariflou Cheltenham Girls
Nika Brendehann Cherrybrook Technology High
Samuel Long Cowra High
Bonnie Huang Fort St High
Azren Snow Gloucester High
Xinyu (Dora) Tong Hornsby Girls
Emilie Wu James Ruse
Kate Aston Killara High
Ben Kabealo Killarney Heights High
Kate Lintott Lambton High
Charlie Pilcher Newtown CAPA
Marko Beocanin Normanhurst Boys
Christopher Kim North Sydney Boys
Sam Le Geyt Northern Beaches – Balgowlah Boys
Neve Morgan Northern Beaches – Many Campus
Gaganjot Gill Strathfield Girls
Andrew Chang Sydney Boys
Susana Pang Sydney Girls
Jacob Rawung Terrigal High
Shaye Kleynjan Warners Bay High
Sienna Austin Willoughby Girls
Madison Ballard Wollongong CAPA


The funds for the Awards are all donated. Donations to the Aurora High Achiever Award can be made here.